## Hays County Emergency Services District No. 9 (HCESD No. 9) San Marcos/Hays County EMS Station 2061 Clovis R. Barker Rd., Unit 10-B, San Marcos, Texas 78666 September 12, 2018 – 6:30 p.m.

## **Regular Meeting to Adopt Budget & Tax Rate Minutes**

- 1. Call to order, establish quorum;
  - ➤ Commissioner Roger Boyd called the Regular Meeting to order at 6:32 p.m. and a quorum established with Commissioners Roger Boyd, Diane Hervol, Bruce Schneider, and Carla Sisk in attendance.
  - Commissioner Chris Baker arrived to the meeting at 6:40 p.m.
- 2. Public Comment: In accordance with the Texas Attorney General's opinion, any public comment that is made on an item that is not on the published final agenda will only be heard by the Board of Commissioners. No formal action, discussion, deliberation, nor comment will be made by the Board of Commissioners;
  - ➤ No public comments were offered at this time.
- 3. Recognition and welcome for Hays County Commissioners Ingalsbe and Jones;
  - ➤ Hays County Commissioner Mark Jones was welcome at this time and discussion held about potential EMS Station in Uhland/Niederwald.
  - Commissioner Susan Ingalsbe was not in attendance.
  - Discussion held with no action taken.
- 4. Discuss and consider action on minutes of the August 8, 2018 meeting;
  - Motion by Diane Hervol, seconded by Bruce Schneider, to approve minutes as submitted.
  - ➤ Motion passed (5-0).
- 5. Discuss and consider action on treasurer's report, including the payment of invoices, reimbursements, and status of District's deposit of funds;
  - Presentation of treasurer's report and monthly bills by Bruce Schneider.
  - Motion by Carla Sisk, seconded by Chris Baker, to approve treasurer's report and payment of invoices as submitted.
  - ➤ Motion passed (5-0).

## At this time, Board President Roger Boyd moved forward to Agenda Item No. 10 as requested by Commissioner Diane Hervol

- 10. Presentation by Caldwell Hays ESD No. 1 regarding its future plans and operations;
  - Presentation by Travis County ESD No. 11 Chief Ken Bailey, currently representing Caldwell Hays ESD No. 1.
  - Discussion held with no action taken.

## Return to posted Agenda order

- 6. Discuss and consider action on quarterly investment reports for 1<sup>st</sup>, 2<sup>nd</sup>, and 3<sup>rd</sup> quarters of FY 2017-2018;
  - ➤ Motion made by Carla Sisk, seconded by Diane Hervol, to accept the 1<sup>st</sup>, 2<sup>nd</sup>, and 3<sup>rd</sup> FY 2017-2018 investment reports as submitted.
  - ➤ Motion passed (5-0).

- 7. Discuss and consider action on budget for fiscal year October 1, 2018 to September 30, 2019, including action on Resolution Adopting Budget;
  - Motion by Diane Hervol to accept FY October 1, 2018 to September 30, 2019 and Resolution Adopting Budget as submitted.
  - Second provided by Chris Baker.
  - Motion passed (5-0).
- 8. Discuss and consider action on the District's 2018 tax rate, including taking a record vote, adopting an Order Levying Taxes and authorizing filing the Order with the Hays County Tax Assessor/Collector;
  - Motion by Carla Sisk: "I move that the property tax rate be increased by the adoption of a tax rate of \$0.06 which is effectively a 5.98% increase in the tax rate."
  - Second provided by Diane Hervol.
  - Roll call vote:
    - Bruce Schneider Aye
    - Roger Boyd Aye
    - Chris Baker Aye
    - Diane Hervol Aye
    - Carla Sisk Aye
- 9. Receive monthly report from Chief Smith with SMHCEMS regarding emergency operations, response times, call volume, training, management activities, and membership;
  - Discussion held with no action taken.
- 11. Discus sand consider action on possible Uhland Fire and EMS Station;
  - No discussion held, nor action taken.
- 12. Discuss and consider action on annexation of territory not included in district, including election costs;
  - No discussion held, nor action taken.
- 13. Discuss time, place, date, and agenda items for next meeting; and
  - The next Regular Meeting of Hays County ESD No. 9 will take place on Wednesday, October 10, 2018 at 6:30 p.m. at the Kyle Fire Department Station No. 1 located at 210 W. Moore St., Kyle, Texas 78640.
- 14. Adjourn.
  - Meeting adjourned at 7:45 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Diane Hervol, Secretary HCESD No. 9