## Hays County Emergency Services District No. 9 (HCESD No. 9) At Kyle Fire Department Station No. 1 210 W. Moore St., Kyle, TX 78640 February 13<sup>th</sup>, 2019 – 6:30p.m.

## **Regular Meeting Minutes**

- 1. Call to order, establish quorum:
  - ⇒ The Regular Meeting was called to order at 6:32p.m. and a quorum was established with Commissioners Roger Boyd, Chris Baker, Diane Hervol, Bruce Schneider, and Carla Sisk in attendance.
- Public Comment: In accordance with the Texas Attorney General's opinion, any public comment that is made on an item that is not on the published final agenda will only be heard by the Board of Commissioners. No formal action, discussion, deliberation, nor comment will be made by the Board of Commissioners;

 $\Rightarrow$  No public comments were offered at this time.

- 3. Discuss and consider action on minutes of the January 9th, 2019 meeting;
  - $\Rightarrow$  Motion by Chris Baker, seconded by Diane Hervol, to approve the minutes as submitted.
  - $\Rightarrow$  Motion passed (5-0).
- 4. Discuss and consider action on treasurer's report. Including the payment of invoices, reimbursements, and status of District's deposit of funds;
  - $\Rightarrow$  Motion by Carla Sisk, seconded by Diane Hervol, to approve payment of invoices as submitted.
  - $\Rightarrow$  Motion passed (5-0).
  - $\Rightarrow$  Motion by Carla Sisk, seconded by Chris Baker, to approve the treasurer's report.
  - $\Rightarrow$  Motion passed (5-0).
- **5.** Receive monthly report from Chief Smith with SMHCEMS regarding emergency operation, response times, call volume, training, management activities, and membership;
  - $\Rightarrow$  Presentation by Chief Smith, Matthew Weingberg, and Jolind Tays.
  - $\Rightarrow$  Discussion held with no action taken.
- 6. Approve and accept statements and oaths of office for appointed/reappointed commissioners;
  - ⇒ Commissioner Lon Shell of Hays County ESD No. 3 administered and accepted the Oath of Office and Statement of Elected/Appointed Officer for Commissioners Roger Boyd, Bruce Schneider, and Carla Sisk.
- 7. Discuss and consider action regarding election of officers for Board;
  - ⇒ Motion by Chris Baker, seconded by Bruce Schneider, to elect Carla Sisk to the position of Treasurer.
  - $\Rightarrow$  Motion passed (5-0).
  - ⇒ Motion by Diane Hervol, seconded by Chris Baker, to elect Bruce Schneider to the position of Assistant Treasurer.
  - $\Rightarrow$  Motion passed (5-0).
  - ⇒ Motion by Carla Sisk, seconded by Bruce Schneider, to retain Commissioner Roger Boyd as President, Commissioner Chris Baker as Vice President, and Commissioner Diane Hervol as Secretary.
  - $\Rightarrow$  Motion passed (5-0).

- 8. Discuss and take action on Texas Comptroller Annual Debt and Financial Information Reporting Requirement;
  - $\Rightarrow$  Discussion held with no action taken.
- **9.** Discuss and consider action on payment plan for reimbursement to SMHCEMS for payment of City of Kyle invoice;
  - ⇒ Motion by Chris Baker, seconded by Diane Hervol, to pay \$50,000 towards the balance owed to SMHCEMS for the payment of the City of Kyle Invoice.
  - $\Rightarrow$  Motion passed (5-0).
- 10. Discuss and consider action on possible Uhland Fire and EMS Station;
  - $\Rightarrow$  Discussion held with no action taken.
- **11.** Discuss and consider action on annexation of territory not included in the district, including election costs and calendar of election deadlines for November 2019 election;

 $\Rightarrow$  Discussion held with no action taken.

**12.** Discussion and possible action on proposed meeting with HCESD No. 5 and Kinder Morgan regarding the natural gas pipeline in HCESD No. 5 and 9 district boundaries;

 $\Rightarrow$  Discussion held with no action taken.

- 13. Discuss time, place, date, and agenda items for next meeting; and
  - ⇒ The next Regular Meeting of Hays County ESD No. 9 will take place on Wednesday March 13<sup>th</sup>, 2019 at 6:30p.m. at San Marcos Hays County EMS located at 2061 Clovis R. Barker Rd., San Marcos, TX 78666.
- 14. Adjourn.
  - $\Rightarrow$  Meeting adjourned at 7:34p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Diane Hervol Secretary HCESD No. 9